A Love Affair ♥

Yummy goodness

Went to Botanic Gardens for a picnic with two of my favourite girls Hongs & Chuns! ♥

Didn’t take as many photos as we planned because it was crowded/we didn’t expect that many tourists or families but here are some that can pass off as pretty.

 

What I wore for the picnic!

I got this dreamy-looking cream hi-low dress for $20 at Bugis Street. Super in love with the new hi-low trend in hemlines this season! Also like how the shoulder is embellished with gold sequins that calls for attention in a subtle way.

The flats are from Taiwan and are featured in my haul post below! The floral headband I got it from my Salt haul, and the belt I got at a random cart shop at Tampines interchange, and have been featured in my previous posts as well, so only the dress is new!

As for my hair, it’s naturally wavy so I didn’t bother doing anything to it, just slipped on a headband (:

Photos I took before/during the day itself (:

Just so this is not another totally useless post, please keep reading ♥

Really enjoyed the picnic even though I was eating vegetarian that day, so I could only eat fruits and the mini muffins. Our food choices are really healthy and overall low in fat, with the exception of chips (which I refrained from eating).

Strawberries blackberries blueberries/our picnic food choice

Did you realised berries are extremely good for your skin?

  • Berries are extremely rich in anti-oxidants like Vitamin E which prevents free radicals (from overexposure to UV rays)  from attacking your skin and deters aging.
  • Berries contain a lot of vitamin C, which helps in the production of collagen, a key structural protein of the skin. Collagen aids in skin tightening and elasticity, keeping the skin supple and smooth.
  • Berries have salicylic acid that is able to penetrate deep within the pores to exfoliate dead skin cells in deeper skin layers.

These are just some of the benefits of eating berries!

We also chose to eat sushi, which is low in fat with just rice and raw fish/vegetables in it that is filling because of the carbs. The mini muffin so that we could snack but in bite-sizes to reduce fat and sugar intake. Fruit juices, because they’re one of my favourite choice of drinks. Not to mention they’re good sources of vitamins!

Do you realise that the lesser junk food you eat, the clearer your skin is? I don’t think it’s scientifically proven as of yet, but it sure works that way for me. I’m a firm believer of the motto “you are what you eat”. If eating healthy is good for your skin, the reverse applies as well: eating junk food is bad for your skin! You will tend to have more breakouts because of the lack of vitamins and nutrients needed to keep up a smooth complexion.

So don’t use the excuse of you’re not into beauty/makeup to cover up for a bad complexion, start eating healthy/healthier instead!

Remember: eat right to treat your skin right.

XOXO,

HuiMin

5 comments

  1. amysvintagecloset · May 8, 2012

    How fun! You look darling in these.

    http://www.amysvintagecloset.com

    Like

  2. aqilahnaqlis · May 10, 2012

    The dress you wore is so angelic!

    Like

  3. gratissnurr · June 29, 2014

    I got this web page from my pal who told me regarding this web
    site and now this time I am browsing this web page and reading very informative
    articles or reviews at this place.

    Like

Leave a Reply

