Welcome to Taiwan – Kaohsiung 高雄 I ♥

Hello Internet friends!

If you have been reading my blog for a while you would know that I absolutely love Taiwan, and I have already been there once a year every year since 2012. Somehow I got blessed with the opportunity to visit one of my favourite countries during my freshman and sophomore year in SMU, and I am super thankful for that. This May I got to go on a Business Study Mission (BSM) trip to Kaohsiung and Tainan, which I jumped at the chance to because it’s another part of Taiwan which I haven’t had the chance to explore in-depth yet! So this is me clearing my backlog posts about Taiwan now.

Disclaimer: the DSLR quality photos are taken by my friend Roger, who was the official class photographer for this trip! Thanks Roger! Beside his photos, mine look like shit. Time for a new camera!

IMG_0795

Brought my pink luggage that I bought from Ximending on my last trip to Taiwan! Coincidentally our travel agent has pink luggage tags and it just makes my luggage looks even more pink and girly! I tend to go for luggages with bright colours so they will really stand out, my last one was pink with cow prints. Picking up my luggage at airports is always a breeze!

IMG_9396

Checked into this hotel after a late lunch!

IMG_0803

It was evening time by the time we reached the first hotel for the trip. We quickly checked in because we wanted to head over to the night markets for some exploring. The hotel room quite nice right! IMG_0796

Toilet selfie as I unpacked my toiletries to freshen up before heading out!

IMG_9420

We explored Rui Feng Night Market!

2014-06-30-23-11-02_deco

Black Sugar Milk Tea! I complained that my face looked huge and Roger asked Kuo Hua to stand beside me.

2014-06-30-23-20-48_deco

Still fail leh I think my face is bigger than his fml.

IMG_9425

Us waiting for our Black Sugar Milk Teas! The Taiwanese milk tea is different from the ones in Singapore. In Singapore the milk teas are sickly sweet while in Taiwan, 50% sugar feels like 0% sugar already, there is a stronger tea flavour here! Rui Feng Ye Shi isn’t really big on shopping, about 3/4 of the small night market is food! However I managed to buy some clothes and accessories here that I will feature in my haul post soon!

IMG_0809

Went to the Love River that’s five minutes way from our hotel with some friends!

IMG_0807

Saw this really cute and pretty wall floral wall here. Spot the ducks!!!

IMG_0806

They asked me to send this photo to my bf but I shy.

IMG_0824

Started our industrial visits with China Steel the next morning!

IMG_0825

Dropped by Dream Mall and the tour guide said this bubble tea shop is really good!

IMG_0828

Chose a guan yin latte!

IMG_0827

My group mates and I posing with our Chun Shui Tang beverages!

IMG_0830

Happy girl with awesome drink! It’s actually a restaurant style setting with a counter so you can sit inside and feel atas! As you can see I kept very strictly to the formal code because it is the first day, can’t afford to look too laid back! IMG_0848

Then we went to Sun Yat-Sen Uni to have an exchange session with some of the students and professors there!

IMG_9562

The campus is really huge and spacious! And the air smells really fresh because it’s right next to the sea!

IMG_0850

With the fathers of Taiwan.

IMG_0857

On the pretty campus green!

IMG_0861

Had a pretty good dinner, they said the squid was good!

Stay tuned for part II!

XOXO,
HuiMin

6 comments

  1. myclosetisfull · July 10, 2014

    Ahhh I’m so jealous! I want to go to Taiwan too! Except for the squid…I’m not that brave 😉

    Like

    • huiminxoxo · July 10, 2014

      I tried squid before, but it’s not to my liking. Taiwan is my favourite travel destination! The best time to visit is in April 🙂

      Like

  2. breathechic · July 10, 2014

    The floral wall is gorgeous. I also like your suitcase! Pink is my favorite color.
    -Autumn
    http://www.thechicteen.com

    Like

    • huiminxoxo · July 10, 2014

      Thank you! I like your posts on leggings, agreed! ♥

      Like

  3. dapperdolly · July 20, 2014

    Awesome post – I’ve heard brilliant things about shopping in Taiwan and your posts adds to that 🙂

    Like

    • huiminxoxo · July 21, 2014

      Thank you! Yes the shopping in Taiwan is awesome!!! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

