Mixed Messages – Thoughts on All About That Bass ❤

Haven’t been listening to pop songs recently, but this particular song caught my attention when youtubers started covering it and I felt like I had to say something aka ranting. Which probably means a lot of my points won’t exactly be the most well articulated ones out there but here goes.

All about that Bass – Meghan Trainor

Catchy song that’s supposedly an ode to plus-sized women with a positive message but the subliminal messages are just…. I just had to say something.

“‘Cause I got that boom boom that all the boys chase” / “My momma she told me don’t worry about my size, she said boys like a little more booty to hold at night” 

I’m sure this is nothing new to most of us, but do we really need another song telling girls that you are beautiful because there are guys who will like your physical size/appearance/trait? Even if beauty is an aesthetic concept, why can’t you define your own beauty? Your booty is beautiful because you like it, why is it only beautiful when men like it? Why does validation of women only come after men’s interest/approval?

“All the right junk in all the right places”

Aren’t you cute, so what makes you different from the media that’s been trying to tell us what’s “right”? There’s no right or wrong, everyone’s different. No singular standard for beauty, please.

“I’m all about that bass” 

This song does NOT boost any girl’s confidence. In fact, it’s doing the exact opposite. It’s objectifying a girl’s derriere, reducing us beautiful, complex girls to just one part of our body. Not only so, the song conveys the message that the only thing beautiful about plus-sized women is their “bass”.

“Go ahead and tell them skinny bitches that, no I’m just playing, I know you think you’re fat, but I’m here to tell ya, every inch of you is perfect from the bottom to the top”

Really? After glorifying the derrieres of plus-sized women, you’re trying to tell us “skinny bitches” are perfect?  Condescending verse to placate haters, more like. (Look at the MV and you’ll see what I mean – the “skinny” girl in the video isn’t exactly depicted in a positive light. Oh, and she’s dressed in plastic, proof? )

“You know I won’t be no stick figure silicone Barbie doll, so if that’s what you’re into then go ahead and move along”

Ok. There’s nothing wrong with being a stick figure silicone barbie doll if it doesn’t endanger your health and it makes you happy. Plastic surgery’s not for me, even after seeing the wonderful effects of it, but if it’s your dish, then go for it! Who are you to say that’s not beautiful/perfect?

I guess my main gripe with this song is that not only does it relate validation of women to men’s approval, it actually puts down some groups of girls in an attempt to lift up others. Why do you have to compare and create gaping holes of inadequacy to feel better about yourself? I’m sure the situation of “she’s skinny but…. she has no boobs/butt/curves” and “she’s pretty but she’s fat/heavy/fake/plastic” is not new to anyone. WHY must there be a “but”? Why can’t we just graciously admit someone is beautiful?  You don’t need to pull others down to feel beautiful about yourself (if you’re doing that, it probably makes you less beautiful). And I’m not the only one who finds this song problematic.

I respect lyrical freedom, but it’d be better if there was a song that truly carried positive messages.

In all seriousness though,

coco

 

XOXO,
HuiMin

 

2 comments

  1. myclosetisfull · September 8, 2014

    YES. Finally someone who says everything I have wanted to say! I couldn’t agree more with all your points. I watched the MV and was like “wait, what?” I agree that beauty should be self-defined, and that you shouldn’t have to put down one group just to lift up another. I thought all your statements were perfectly articulate and on point ❤

    Like

    • huiminxoxo · September 9, 2014

      Aww thanks for your comment Alison! You’re so sweet! Yes, noone should ever define our beauty for us! Have a lovely day! X

      Like

Leave a Reply

