The Right Flare – Flattering Skirt How-to ❤

HI FRIENDS!!!

Just a quick update before we start – I have been very sick for the past couple of weeks, what started as a flu downward spiraled into one condition after another and it took me a looong time to recover but now I’m back! Still not at my 100% health, but I missed this space too much! Today, I’m starting a new initiative for my social media project called #rightforyou, where every Tuesday you are going to see a post about how to find the right fashion/beauty for you! I’ll try to add in my own personal experience besides the standard advice from magazines so it’ll be from a real girl to another.

For the first #rightforyou Tuesday, I’m going to be talking about skirt types and cuts! Duh, as if the title isn’t obvious enough. As a self-professed girly girl, I own a million if not a zillion skirts in every imaginable cut and fashion, from trendy to classics so I thought I’d have somewhat of an expertise to give advice? HAHA we shall see?

the right flare

Here are the four main skirts I picked out for this post because I have mostly worn them all before! I am an hourglass-ish pear-shaped body type so I guess what I’m trying to say is that OBVIOUSLY you can wear whatever the hell you want, but you can’t deny certain cuts definitely won’t flatter you! Just like how I’ve stayed far far farrrr away from tulle tutu skirts even though they’re so cute!

tulle.32

Credit

Not a good idea…

1. The Skater Skirt

 wpid-img_20140705_205530.jpgCLICK FOR DETAILS

I loooove skater skirts they’re a girl’s best friend. Why they’re so great for apple shapes or for any girls with tummies is that they hide it oh so wonderfully well. I have a thick waist so the waistband cut-off really helps to define my waist and create an illusion of proportions. Not to mention this is extremely versatile skirt and suitable for daily wear!

2. The Bandage Skirt

20140621-225213-82333207.jpg

CLICK FOR DETAILS

The bandage skirt, especially the midi bandage, is so incredibly flattering for the hourglass shape because it brings out the curves! Also wonderful because it smooths over your thighs that are usually considered problem areas by many girls. I usually wear shorter bandage skirts though because I’m short! Wearing this means I have to suck in my tummy a lot though and definitely no buffets…

 3. The Trumpet Skirt

wpid-img_20140821_184551.jpg

CLICK FOR DETAILS

This is awesome for ladies who are a little rectangular shaped – the delayed flare really adds volume and shape to the body! I recommend going for neoprene material that is extra voluminous and bouncy to create a fuller silhouette for lean figures 🙂 For fuller figures like me, this trend should be adopted in a high-waisted to bring attention to a smaller waist!

By the way, did you realise I have the same pose in all photos HAHAHA. It’s my standard pose and smile photo but I’m trying to change!

 4. The Tulip Skirt

Teodora-B-plum-dress-tulip-skirt-848x1000

Credit

I have honestly never been a fan of tulip skirts because more often than not they are way too puffy in the hips area irl which is bringing more attention to the wide hips of the pear shape! However, the tulip wrap/a-line skirt is a gorgeous skirt type that not only highlights the waist with its thick waistband and creates just the right amount of volume to skim over the hips! The longer length also helps to create an illusion of a longer body! The pleats/folds at the front of a tulip wrap skirt also do wonders to hide tummies! Definitely something to try!

There are obviously plenty of other skirt types out there that are flattering as well. Do you have any other favourite skirt types/trends? Comment and let me know!

XOXO,
HuiMin

14 comments

  1. freshfoodfashion · September 9, 2014

    Love this !

    Like

  2. kerstie ladd · September 9, 2014

    Thank you for the tips! ♡ You look great in your skirts

    Like

  3. avibrantday · September 9, 2014

    Fun post! I hope you’re feeling better soon.

    Like

  4. myclosetisfull · September 10, 2014

    I bought a bandage/bodycon-type skirt over the weekend and seriously, I thought of you the entire time between picking it off the rack and (eek!) buying it! I’m nervous bc I don’t like super tight things, but it was so cute, I just couldn’t pass it up 🙂

    Like

    • huiminxoxo · September 12, 2014

      Glad you bought it! Waiting for your ootd! (;

      Like

  5. jayeeaych · September 12, 2014

    Great post! I’m a huge fan of skater skirts!
    xx,
    Josephine
    http://www.jayeeaych.com

    Like

    • huiminxoxo · September 12, 2014

      Thank you! Yes, skater skirts are the best (:

      Like

  6. daisyandrae · September 12, 2014

    This is a great little mini guide for skirts and how they accentuate different body types! I personally love the bandage and the skater! 🙂 I know what you mean about no buffets with the bandage! 😉 Such a cute post; thanks for sharing!

    Love that skater skirt outfit, by the way!

    Like

    • huiminxoxo · September 12, 2014

      Thank you so much! They’re my favorites too! Xx

      Like

  7. Pingback: Scarlet Lace OOTD: Perfect Romper How-to ❤ | HUIMINXOXO
  8. rampage site · November 25, 2014

    I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own weblog and
    was curious what all is required to get set up?
    I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a
    pretty penny? I’m not very web savvy so I’m not 100% positive.
    Any recommendations or advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Appreciate it

    Like

Leave a Reply

