Too Faced Christmas Party Must Haves Review ❤

2014-12-19-01-12-54_deco

HI EVERYONE!

IT’S ALMOST CHRISTMAS!!!! I’m so excited!

So I got another mini makeup gift set from the Sephora pop up store at the mall I’m currently working at. (Now you know why I need the job, I spend way too much!) I managed to score an additional 10% off during their happy hour promotion AND got a free ciate nail polish as well, so I am really happy about this purchase! This set retails locally for about $29.

I like that the packaging looks rather girly  and festive. It has both eye products and face products so I think it would make a perfect Christmas gift for a makeup junkie (for all you last minute shoppers!). Not only so, the items are all conveniently travel-friendly sizes so it’s definitely easy to carry during travels.

The Christmas Party Must Haves boasts the best of Too Faced products:

Chocolate Soleil Matte Bronzer

2014-12-21-21-57-40_deco

I AM IN LOVE WITH THIS BRONZER!!! Okay I know I say I love a lot of things, but this bronzer is seriously the bomb. It contains anti-oxidant rich cocoa powder and when you open it, it smells just like chocolate! The bronzer comes in the shade medium and I think it will work great for fair to medium skin tones. The matte texture and high pigmentation makes it look very subtle and natural upon application, and it’s suitable for oily/combination skin. It works well for contouring and also for giving a nice glow.

The actual colour is closer to this (apologies for my crap lighting):

web_chocolatesoleil_open

Source

 Better Than Sex Mascara 

2014-12-19-01-14-23_deco

Too Faced claims its mascara can increase lash volume by 1,944%. I do wonder how did they come up with that number. I was super excited to try out this product because I heard so many good things about it. I do think that to achieve dramatic voluminous lashes that look like falsies, you probably have o put on at least two coats, especially if you’re sadly born with thin and sparse lashes like me. However, with just one coat, I can safely say that the thickening effect of the mascara is very obvious, and an additional coat made it even longer and thicker. I’m not sure about the 1,944% but it sure works well enough for me. It’s definitely better than most mascaras I have tried and I feel satisfied with the volume enhancement of my lashes. However, I feel that this is prone to clumping so definitely swab it with a tissue to rid the excess before application.

Primed and Poreless Face Primer & Shadow Insurance Eye Shadow Primer

2014-12-19-01-16-18_deco

For the eyeshadow primer:

I was really surprised when I first used this primer because it felt so greasy. It’s very creamy and easy to spread, but the greasiness was a little off-putting. I’ve been using Urban Decay’s eyeshadow primer potion so that’s my basis of comparison. I think the staying power is identical to UD’s, and I didn’t see any creasing or fade at the end of the day. However I wouldn’t recommend this for people with oily eyelids as it really feels rather greasy!

For the pore primer:

I was quite excited to try this product because I was like wow, can this product really make my pores disappear? Actually, my skin condition is considered decent and the primer did conceal most of my pores especially at the T-zone area but less so on my cheeks. I didn’t really put a lot of it on though, so maybe I’m doing it wrong. I was a little disappointed because it said on the tube itself that it was sufficient to use alone but I don’t think that option is viable for me, but I would say that is up to personal preference. If you feel comfortable with just the primer on, then good for you! However, after layering on my CC cream my skin definitely does look A LOT more flawless! (: So I guess this primer works well for me if I put on some  foundation of sorts. I don’t think the staying power is great for combination skin, so you definitely need to put some powder on.

2014-12-23-00-02-26_deco

Using the Too Faced products! (I purposely dimmed the lighting so you can see my pores LOL)

Overall, I would recommend this set because the products generally work well and they’re pretty comprehensive for the bare essentials.

Have a wonderful Christmas everyone!

XOXO,
HuiMin

6 comments

  1. Mel · December 24, 2014

    Awesome reveiw! You look pretty!

    http://girlandthepolkadot.blogspot.com/

    Like

  2. SilkyResh · December 24, 2014

    i love Too Faced products lovely post I followed you can you follow me back please so we can see each others post and like each others post and comment. Thank you
    http://silkyresh1984.wordpress.com/

    Like

  3. avibrantday · December 27, 2014

    Lovely! I agree, that is a funny number…

    Like

Leave a Reply

