Neoteric Brilliance OOTD – Urban Chic How-to ❤

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

The light of a thousand stars

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

Celebrating the new year by trading my usual girly wardrobe for a fiercer look that I think is awesome for a day of running about town. Urban chic is the staple for every city girl, and I thought I’d do my own spin on it.

Here are my tips on how to achieve the perfect urban chic look:

1. Create a sleek silhouette

Fitting pieces are the way to go when emulating the upscale urban style – aim for polished yet edgy. As a safe bet, stick with structured pieces. With a structured crop top and a figure skimming bandage skirt, I fashioned a neat and slick visual imagery. To prevent the coordinate from looking too formal, I picked a skirt with a pleather front to amalgamate posh and street.

2. Opt for chunky footwear

I really love how you get to combine polished and hardness in this look. I think part of the charm surrounding the urban chic style comes from how elegance gets innately tamed by street trends. Chunky footwear like the pair of light taupe boots I’m sporting here is perfect as it adds a rough touch to the outfit and eliminates excessive dressiness. The colour choice also disrupts the blacks from overpowering the outfit.

3. Slip in some gold tones

Classy black corralled by bold gold, the combination forms the epitome of urban chic. I incorporated gold tones here by wearing a black and gold statement necklace and carrying my trusty Charles and Keith tote (that’s also a structured square shape).

2015-01-01-21-17-43_deco

Top: One Daisy | Skirt: Cotton on | Boots: Taobao | Bag: Charles and Keith | Necklace: Forever 21

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Quick life update:

I’m going to Sweden in 10 days.

 It’s a school exchange trip that’s going to last six months, and it’s the first time I’m going to be so far away from home for so long. I can’t breathe – it’s a mix of panic and excitement. I’m going to be updating this space with loads of travel stuff, and you’ll probably see the sweaters that have been hiding in the cave I call my closet on here. Regardless, I know I’ll probably get to experience some amazing stuff, and I can’t wait!

May the new year bring you loads of new adventures and fruitfulness 🙂

XOXO,
HuiMin

16 comments

  1. Camila · January 3, 2015

    Chunky shoes are my go-to this season. They’re so fun. I love your blog!
    I have a fashion blog if you’d like to check it out: http://thegeekchickblog.com/
    Camila

    Like

  2. mel · January 3, 2015

    Cute outfit!! Love the tips! Happy Friday

    http://girlandthepolkadot.blogspot.com/

    Like

    • huiminxoxo · January 6, 2015

      Thank you so much Mel! Have a great week ahead! Xx

      Like

  3. avibrantday · January 3, 2015

    Hooray!! I’m so excited for your Scandinavian adventures!! I can’t wait for photos (lots of them please :0)

    Like

    • huiminxoxo · January 6, 2015

      Hehe thanks so much Jacqueline! I’m excited too, will definitely post many pictures! Xx

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Lena · January 3, 2015

    Darling you are the master of crop tops! Love this gorgeous ensemble from head to toe, and I love your hair color too! Have a great new year dear!! All the best in 2015!! 🙂 xo~ Lena
    http://www.felinecreatures.com

    Like

    • huiminxoxo · January 6, 2015

      Thank you so much Lena, you’re always too kind! Have a great year ahead too! Xx

      Like

  5. vogueinfatuation · January 3, 2015

    i love your style!! just followed u, feel freee to check mine out x
    http://www.vogueinfatuation.wordpress.com

    Like

    • huiminxoxo · January 6, 2015

      Hey dear, thank you so much! You have a new follower, your blog looks great!! Xx

      Liked by 1 person

  6. avenuecamilla · January 4, 2015

    I love this outfit, it’s really cool 🙂

    Hope your 2015 is off to a wonderful start!
    xxx
    Camilla
    http://avenuecamilla.com

    Like

  7. myclosetisfull · January 5, 2015

    OMG! You’re going to Sweden, that’s awesome!! I bet there’s a million and one emotions going through your pretty head right now. You are going to have the trip of a lifetime. Be safe and upload lots of travel photos! ❤ XO

    Like

  8. yuyufashionbook · January 5, 2015

    Amazing outfit ! Love this !

    Kiss ! Yuyu

    http://www.yuyufashionbook.com/

    Like

Leave a Reply

