Life in Lund II – Gunnesbo ❤

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

HELLO FROM LUND!

So… It’s been a total of eleven days since I stepped foot on Swedish soil, and this whole experience has just been… crazy. Crazy amazing that is. For those of you who aren’t already familiar, Gab and I are currently on exchange in Lund, Sweden.  Right now Gab has gone for classes and  I stayed home to nurse my injured ankle. I thought I’d get down to some blogging since I’m taking a break from exploring and running errands. (If any of you are interested in going on exchange in Lund, you might find this a bit more interesting than others.)

Arrival Day was daunting, with long waiting times and several different paperwork to do. It was about 6 when we finally arrived at our apartment at Bautastenen. With no food in our fridge and the provided utensils unwashed, we trudged out in full winter gear in hopes of finding the McDees we passed by en route on the drive to our apartment. However, we soon realized it was way too far and it was way too dark and not to mention depressingly cold. We decided to head to the petrol kiosk (the other “landmark” we saw) and was DELIGHTED when we saw this:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Jappas Taverna

Okay actually I saw the words Pizzeria first and I was like “OMG GAB WE HAVE TO EAT HERE” because I was cold tired and starving. It’s a small little restaurant that’s incredibly cozy. The staff is extremely friendly and the pizza is made on the spot!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Their simple storefront with the friendly uncle!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We tried the Haiwaiian pizza that was only 65 kr. I don’t know if I was incredibly hungry, but this $12 pizza sure tasted like heaven to me. It might also be because I prefer thin crust pizza that are more Italian style over the American kinds. The ingredients were really fresh and the portions were generous (I have never seen so much toppings per slice back in Singapore, if you know any, please tell!). We had three slices each.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Onion Salad on the house that was refreshing and crisp.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Happy me with my huge pizza slice!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

They also have other items on the menu and we definitely intend to try them out the next time. You can call them and order, then pick them up when they’re done so you don’t have to wait. As you can see their set meal for lunch is ONLY 65 kr and it comes with a drink, salad, bread, butter and coffee!  DEFINITELY going back again (when I’m too lazy or tired to cook that is)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

One thing I took for granted back in Singapore – hot Milo!

  With Milo for breakfast, we decided to find the train station to take the train and then bus to school on the next day. We got lost and somehow stumbled upon the shopping area located near our house! There are three main supermarkets here, an Apotek (Swedish pharmacy, somewhat like Guardian), florist, furniture shop, toy shop. If you walk another ten minutes you’ll end up in Nova Lund which is a large shopping mall with several standalone shops as well. In hindsight, even though our apartment is a little far from school, it’s pretty well equipped with all the necessary shops and transportation facilities. So I’m pretty happy with our accomodation!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

For our first grocery trip, we shopped at Coop Forum. Coop looks more like a polished and clean hypermarket. It also has a small area at the front for dining in as well.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We just grabbed whatever we took to our fancy – which was loads of vegetables for me, and fresh meat for him.

We then proceeded home to cook some lunch with our new groceries and chose to prepare the easiest dish in the world – pasta. (Ok I’m going to admit my subsequent posts are going to be filled with many photos of what we cook – forgive me, first time attempting to cook food that is actually edible)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Pasta with bacon and bratwurst

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Bacon creates happiness. I just realised you can see the smoke rising from the pasta. I’m getting hungry while editing these photos!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Travelled out in the right direction after lunch! Gunnesbo is the train station nearest to our house.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Trying to figure out how the machine works

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Taking selfies while waiting for the train which can take anywhere from 5 minutes to half an hour…. I’m no longer complaining about my 7 min train on the Circle Line when I’m back in SG. Waiting in the cold for 30 minutes is seriously not fun!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After the talk at school, we headed to Nova Lund for some shopping. I did get some stuff there which I’m probably gonna show in a haul post soon!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Cooked some stir fry egg noodles for dinner before concussing on my bed shortly after. I’m strangely beginning to sleep earlier and wake up earlier here in lund, perhaps it is due to the shorter days and longer nights in winter. That’s my first 2 days of arriving in Lund! I’ll be updating more soon, right now I’m settling into my classes and figuring school out.

XOXO,
HuiMin

9 comments

  1. mel · January 23, 2015
  2. Melisa · January 23, 2015

    Amazing photos darling. You guys are so cute 🙂 Mel
    http://www.livingoncloude9.com

    Like

  3. Syah · January 24, 2015

    I definitely took transit for granted when I was living in Singapore! Vancouver has comparably decent transit but nothing compares to Singapore!

    Like

    • huiminxoxo · February 3, 2015

      Yes! I miss trains that arrive every 5 min where we can wait sheltered from the elements! Have a great day! Xx

      Like

  4. avibrantday · February 6, 2015

    Ya’ll are my kind of people. LOL. Thanks for indulging me with lots of food photos and talk about food! Man…. that photo of the bread is amazing. I hope those locals appreciate what they have :o)

    Like

    • huiminxoxo · February 11, 2015

      Hehe they have so many different kinds of breads here I always don’t know which to choose! Have a great day! Xx

      Liked by 1 person

      • avibrantday · February 13, 2015

        I know, right?! It’s the best kind of dilemma!! 😁

        Like

Leave a Reply

