P for Poland I – Gdansk

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Time to update on #gabandminminadventures before I get too much backlog of photos to edit!

These pictures are from our first travel trip within Europe (ie outside of Sweden), which was a last minute weekend trip to Poland with two strangers aka Ben and YY (actually fellow students from SMU) who ended up being my good friends today 🙂

Ben asked me if we wanted to go to Poland like, three days from the departure date. When we said yes, the departure flight wasn’t even picked yet! Crazy decision to go on board considering what an anal traveller I am. I like to plan months in advance, but I am glad that I chose to listen to my whims because though the trip was pretty horrible, the company was pretty darn awesome. While I love solo trips with the nerd, group travelling is fun too because a) safety in numbers b) cheaper accommodation costs due to eos c) you don’t have to decide everything all the time, other people can do it for you!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The empty Malmo airport

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I loved the view of the runway though. I kept wondering if our plane would be too tiny and Ben kept joking about 20 seater planes. My brother told me that bigger planes were generally safer so I was panicking a little inside.  Turns out Wizz Air was using a medium plane phew (idk which lah, ok not plane expert) and is one of the most efficient airlines when it came to seating its passengers. They don’t employ seat reservation or delegate any seat number for you unless you pay a premium. So along with the rest of the cheapskates we just orderly rushed to a seat (I know it’s an oxymoron but that’s really what happened) and quickly settled down. The whole boarding procedure was done in 10 minutes.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Landed in Gdansk airport and had forty minutes before the next bus. Ate the shittiest chocolate cake I ever had that ended up giving me a diarrhea 😦

We caught an afternoon flight and by the time we landed in Gdansk it was around 8/9pm? We rented a Airbnb apartment for the first time, and the apartment was smack in the middle of the old town, which meant a pretty long walk of 15-20 min in the cold night from the train station.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Decided to eat at Bobby Burger whose interior was reminiscent of the hipster cafes back home after settling in our apartment.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Got some chicken mushroom burger set that cost about 15 sgd. Not the best I had but it’s okay. Also their toliet were very clean so yay for my upset tummy. TMI, but a good toilet is hard to find when you’re travelling! Along this street there are many upscale restaurants so their toilets should be pretty clean too I guess.

Walked around trying to find a place that sold diarrhea pills and almost gave up hope after the fourth store. Never give up guys. Didn’t really take photos of any night view cause I was in pain ok?!

 OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Our accommodation! Didn’t take any pics of the apartment but it was pretty decent for one night, plus it was super close to all the main attractions. Thankful that though it was located directly across a club, it was so quiet that a light sleeper like me could fall asleep!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAMy new travel companions YY and Ben!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe beautiful and gigantic church in Gdansk! If you stand too close you can’t take a full view so this was from our back door which was a few streets away

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The streets of old town Gdansk are really pretty, I was taken away by all the architecture that greeted my eyes

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Group shot! My camera needs to focus on all of us instead of just the closest face. Haven’t been able to figure that out yet.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Wanted to go to this personal care store but it was closed till 9 am. We stood outside shivering in the cold while taking loads of pretty pictures with the building behind us!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Using the dramatic filter in art mode on my EPL6!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Say hello to my new pet lion!!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Okay in the end we were so cold that we decided to go take a look inside the church and seek shelter from the wind.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This church is especially pretty to me, I don’t know why, maybe because of the lack of people crowding around so you’re left to admire its beauty in contemplative silence.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Picked up supplies from Rossmann like a toothbrush… Yes I always forget my toothbrush when I travel, I’m not the only one right? ): Btw if you’re ever in Poland, don’t hesitate to buy a sim card (you can do so at Rossmann) cause it’s really very cheap!! I think it was like 5 zloty or something.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The bright and colorful old town street! We ate breakfast at Subway cause it was super cheap in Poland!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I think this was the history museum, not very sure since we didn’t have much time to explore. It’s super pretty!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I think this is Poseidon’s fountain or something.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Spot the photo bomber

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I always fail at group shots because my arms are too short. Story of my life.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The miniature version of the pretty museum building!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Bobby burger in daylight.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

End of the old town street!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This actually houses the tourist information centre.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Went back to the other side of old town which had a bridge.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So nice to not have to whip out our phone for a selfie. If you see my hat in pictures, it means it’s really cold and the wind is probably trying to blow my ears off.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Is this how Polish people dressed like in the past?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

With the new city hall!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Ate KFC because we had an hour to spare before our train to Warsaw and it was quite cheap compared to fast food in the other parts of Europe.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This train is co cute, I like the bright colours! Btw hopping on to the train in Poland is stressful because you buy tickets that are assigned to a seat in a particular cabin and you have to find it before the train leaves. But we had no idea where our cabin was, and when the train rushed past we realized it was the last cabin so we ran all the way down for fear of being left behind. Ok on hindsight I realized we could have just boarded a random cabin and walked down. Well, you know what to do next time.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Gdansk was nice and quiet, and probably my preferred leg out of the two for this trip. A 2 day trip is definitely enough to cover Gdansk though. Warsaw wasn’t as pleasant but I’ll leave that to the next post. More soon!

PS: We’ll be travelling to Switzerland and Germany in two weeks, and I can’t wait!

XOXO,
HuiMin

12 comments

  1. Feline Creatures · March 7, 2015

    Love the quaint yet adorable architecture! Looks like you had a great time dear. Sorry to hear about that chocolate cake, it sure looks good but looks can be deceiving I guess. Have a great weekend hun! 🙂 xo~ Lena
    http://www.felinecreatures.com

    Like

    • huiminxoxo · March 8, 2015

      The chocolate cake really was the worst!! Thank you, you too! Xx

      Like

  2. Syah · March 7, 2015

    the architecture is mind blowing! i got a question for you – what’s that amazing navy bag you’re sporting! i’ve been looking for a bag with that shape 🙂

    Like

    • huiminxoxo · March 8, 2015

      Thanks! It’s actually a tote bag by Elle! I got it at one of the local department store back in Singapore. Good luck with the bag hunt! Xx

      Like

  3. Mel · March 7, 2015

    Love the pictures!

    http://www.girlandthepolkadot.com/

    Like

  4. fashionforlunch · March 7, 2015
  5. fiercevillain · March 9, 2015

    Just followed you and love your content :))
    If you find time please check out mine, I also blog about fashion
    http://www.fiercevillain.wordpress.com
    Lots of love

    Like

  6. avibrantday · March 14, 2015

    These are beautiful photos. It sounds like a super fun trip! I’m excited for your future travels!!

    Like

    • huiminxoxo · March 27, 2015

      Thanks so much Jacqueline, it sure is! Will be updating my travelogue soon when I’m back in Sweden! Have a great day! (:

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

