P for Poland – Warsaw

I have been thinking really long and hard about how to phrase this post. I didn’t want to sound accusatory and extreme so I guess this is my attempt?

First, let me begin with this: I DID NOT enjoy myself in Warsaw.

If you don’t want to continue reading, I’ll understand. Who wants to read about a bad travelling experience anyway? It’s always about “xx cities you must visit”, “xx places you won’t believe exist” etc etc. Though I guess people who are partial to truth will want to read the rest.

First of all, Gdansk was really nice and quiet but wherever you went, people would stare. Being Asians we naturally stuck out like a sore thumb. But the way these people were staring at us – what, you haven’t seen an Asian before? Guess what, we’re like half the world. The stares weren’t friendly, and they often stared so long you began to feel uneasy – or at least I did.

 When we got to Warsaw, it was even worse.

Didn’t have a pleasant experience at dinner. It was a popular tourist restaurant for its supposedly authentic Polish cuisine but we didn’t enjoy ourselves fully because of the dirty glances our next table neighbours decided to shower us with.

We were trying to find the post office (at night, don’t ask me why, it was a stupid idea) and had a 20 minute walk. Along the main street at a bus stop, there were three men standing there. One of them was particularly fat. He was staring at me with this smug expression, our eyes met and I looked away because I didn’t like how he was staring at me. Dipped my head further into my scarf because it was so bloody cold and suddenly he shouted “ROARRRR” and jumped out at me. I screamed, and I was super in shock. He laughed. Gab quickly pulled me away. I started crying because I’m a crybaby I was still really in shock. His laughter haunted me for days afterwards – you should have seen his smug little fat face. Gab has this theory that he jumped out at me and picked me because I was the smallest in terms of size, and I looked “vulnerable” hiding in my scarf and hunching over. Don’t know how true is that. And guess what, sadly this is NOT the last time this “scaring” happened in my travel throughout Europe. Am I wrong to pin this on racism?

Then that very same day, after some shopping and dinner, we were trying to walk home. Ended up lost, and a group of boys threw a snowball at my friend’s back. Luckily it didn’t hurt her (or so she says), and when I looked hard at them they all looked away. Like excuse me, you have balls to throw balls at my face but none to look me in the eye??

I fully do not intend to visit Poland ever again. I was SO thankful that we only spent two nights in that horrible place.

 Okay rant over, back to showing you nice pictures 🙂

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A really pretty hotel at the city centre.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

When we went to Poland, it was still January and they still had Christmas lights hanging around the city. We had one right outside our rented apartment! They look really pretty!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We walked through old town to the Warsaw palace and to our delight found the night light show – snowflakes dancing on the palace walls.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

With a huge Christmas tree outside the palace!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Woke up to light snow cover!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Ate at said restaurant last night for dinner. Their Polish dumplings were pretty interesting.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

With the palace defence walls

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Someone built a tiny snowman!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I think this astrological wall clock is super pretty!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA Had breakfast at Costa. Been frequenting global businesses all over Europe. Thank you MNCs for existing. Especially Starbucks. and Macs. Gives me some sense of desperately needed familiarity.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Warsaw palace in the day

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The throne room

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Us with our audio guide!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Tired – I think it took us like three hours to walk the whole palace!!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Went up to the viewing tower opposite the palace to this gorgeous view.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

XOXO,
HuiMin

3 comments

  1. avibrantday · April 8, 2015

    First, I cannot believe you were treated this way! Wow… It really goes beyond the rudeness of staring to the aggressiveness of (I’ll go so far as to say) assault! That sort of behavior should not be happening! I’m so sorry. :o(
    Your photos are absolutely gorgeous though. Hopefully over time the people will fade from your memories of the place. In the meantime, I’m as surprised as you are at this appalling behavior!

    Like

    • huiminxoxo · April 16, 2015

      I know… I was shocked too… Thanks so much Jacqueline, that really means a lot to me! (: Xx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: 10 Things Nobody Tells You About Exchange |

Leave a Reply

