Paris Lovin’ I

HI GUYS!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Miss me? I haven’t been blogging recently because I went to the UK for the past 6 days and I now have a ten day break in Lund before I fly to Greece so I just thought I would do a little travelouge on my trip to Paris…. back in February. *insert sheepish emoji*

I know that my travel posts are more of a personal tone compared to my fashion and beauty related posts and I know that can be a bit bipolar to some people, but I think my travel posts are like my personal diary entries whereas my fashion and beauty posts are like  more “formal” or “professional” (if you can call it that) and a good mix of both is a more holistic representation of who I am. 🙂

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I went to Paris for about five days, and I still didn’t manage to see half of the sights there. There’s just so much to see!

In Paris, the people keep to themselves, and because they only speak French there was a palpable language barrier. The owner of the SIM card shop opposite our hotel could only speak French, and didn’t seem to give a rat’s ass about us after he saw that we clearly didn’t understand him so we left (none of the other customers in the shop offered to help, I assume they were only French-speaking). Even if the service staff does know English, they seem to treat customers who can speak French in a friendlier manner… That’s just my general observation of course, and needless to say I did meet some friendly and helpful staff during the course of my trip of course! Although in the department stores such as Galaries La Fayette and Printemps (which I visited), the Chinese staff would immediately approach you with a “Ni Hao” and assume you’re from China…. But if you speak to them in English, they’ll reply you back in perfect English so it’s all good.

I did have an unpleasant encounter with an extremely rude man in the subway, where I almost bumped into him when I cut in front of him to walk alongside Gab in the underground linkway near our hotel. Gab pulled me in so as to avoid knocking into the man, whom Gab said was looking at his phone and clearly not looking at where he was going. The man then walked in front of us, all the while with his upper body turned towards us, angrily scolding us “You do not cross in front of people when walking. Don’t you know that? Are you stupid? Do you have an education? Do you even speak English?”

All the while he was angrily spitting words at us, I could only look at him in shocked silence but as he rambled on my amusement grew because clearly he doesn’t know where I’m from, and clearly he doesn’t know shit about Asians while I am more than acquainted with his country. Gab said he returned the man’s glare with one of his own, but we pretty much left it at there. This was my FIRST encounter with a Parisian on the street, and it’s certainly not a pleasant one and left me in a pretty foul mood for the rest of the day.

Luckily that’s only the first day and the rest of the trip turned out pretty great ~ A random stranger helped me recover my ring before it fell into the subway track and I’m eternally grateful to him! So thankful for these little acts of kindness shown to us 🙂

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We stayed at the Campanile Hotel situated within 5 minutes walk from the Crimee station. Hotel room was decent enough.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Visited Galeries La Fayette after we checked in! I like to plan something easy and relaxing on the first day whenever I travel, what could be better than shopping to kick start my trip? Didn’t buy much beside my YSL lipstick because it was super crowded with a mad load of tourists going crazy over branded goods and also because there were a lot of spotlights that made me very dizzy…. I prefer the quieter Printemps where I eventually got all my stuff towards the end of the trip!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Macarons!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Wanted to go Champs Elysees to shop but took the wrong turn and ended up right outside the beautiful national palace and opera house!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Sadly it was already closed by the time we reached so we didn’t have a chance to explore the inside of the palace but it sure looked grand when we peeked through the windows!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAWe didn’t know our way around because we still hadn’t gotten a SIM card, but it ended up being a really nice evening walk around the area with so many pretty buildings and bridges!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Went back to La Fayette after failing to find Champ Elysees to eat some super overpriced dim sum that turned out to be a disappointment to my Singaporean taste buds.

 OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Started the second day with the Arc de Triomphe! So happy to get a shot without other people photobombing my shots hehe

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Visited the Louvre Museum that was super crowded

Like everyone else, we wanted to see the Mona Lisa. Perhaps not like everyone else, we didn’t really care about the rest of the art pieces but made it a point to visit the highlights in the part of the building we were at (the museum was really super big and we didn’t have time/weren’t that into all the art exhibits)

20150206_142243

It was super hard to get a selfie with Mona Lisa because it was flooded with other tourists trying to snap photos of the painting and I don’t get it.. if you search online won’t you get a clearer photo of the Mona Lisa than when you take it on your phone?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Posed with this Egyptian art piece that was highlighted and starred on the map but nobody besides me gave two hoots about this statue ): Everyone else is flocking to Mona Lisa and the armless Aphrodite (not posting the photo here because it’s like so full of tourists in the background -_-)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Another  photo at the Egyptian section because it’s nice not to have a bazillion people photobombing you 🙂

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Even quiet enough to take a few selfies! Quite happy because we managed to get FREE entry into the Louvre because we were currently students of the EU! Flash a valid and dated student card and you’ll get free entry! (Don’t worry I’m going to collate all my tips into a single post for future exchange students so definitely keep a lookout! ^^)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

If you’re wondering why I am posting this random photo of a random toilet it’s because this toilet cost me sgd $4 T.T There were like no other restrooms outside at the shopping area of the museum and since I didn’t want the hassle of entering and re-entering because I was still shopping around at the Printemps at Louvre I decided to just pay for it instead. Apparently they wipe down the seat with antibacterial spray after every visit. Wanted to poop as well but couldn’t *sigh*

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Grabbed a baguette from Paul bakery at the gorgeous park right outside the Museum!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Gab’s attempt at an artistic shot

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After the museum we took a walk down to the Lover’s bridge that was just outside and bought a lock on the street for 6 euros. Initially we wanted to buy the 4 euro one, which was the smallest lock out of the three shown (4,5,6 according to size) but the guy took the 6 euro one even after gab said he wanted the 4 euro one. Gab said “5 euro”, then the guy said “Ok”. But because I took the sharpie to write our names on it, he charged us an additional euro for it making it to 6 euro (which is the initial price he told us).  So we got “scammed” ): I didn’t want any trouble so I just told Gab to pay it and hurry walk off.

Then on the way to the bridge I said “it’s ok this is the price of love” LOL

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We arrived to see much of the bridge boarded up and several of the wires poking out from under the railing…. so couples if you’re reading this, please don’t bother!!! Find the smaller love bridge that’s down the street where it’s not that crowded yet! Also remember to bring your pre-written lock to avoid being scammed like us. We just locked it at the most secure looking wire and threw the key into the river 🙂

Damn scary when we turned to walk off, some random black dude came up to me and tried to grab my hand to do the stupid rope magic trick that online forums keep warning us about. PLEASE DON’T GIVE YOUR HAND TO ANYBODY!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Went for another round of Pesto baguette at PAUL for dinner at Champ Elysees because we’re broke it’s nice and wallet-friendly!

I’m keeping the rest of my trip to another post ~~

See y’all in a bit!

XOXO,
HuiMin

5 comments

  1. avibrantday · April 18, 2015

    You and Gab were right not to get sucked in to the rude Parisian’s nonsense. The irony of his comments make for fun reading now (although I’m *so* sorry you had to suffer through the moment in the first place). What an ass.
    These photos are awesome! They’re making me excited for our trip!! :o)

    Like

    • huiminxoxo · May 3, 2015

      I’m glad we didn’t let him spoil our trip too 🙂 That is so exciting!! When are you going? Xx

      Like

  2. Feline Creatures · April 18, 2015

    Looks like such a fun time in Paris! The pesto baguette at Paul looks so delicious, great to know the food choices are vast in the city! I’m hoping to visit this Fall so I’m glad to know about all the cool places to check out. Thanks for the share hun! 🙂 xo~ Lena
    http://www.felinecreatures.com

    Like

    • huiminxoxo · May 3, 2015

      Oh wow! I hope you have a great time when you do go there!! It’s a beautiful city~ 🙂 Xx

      Like

  3. Pingback: 10 Things Nobody Tells You About Exchange |

Leave a Reply

