Paris Lovin’ II

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

HELLO! I’m back with the second part of my trip to Paris ~

Read on to see what it’s like and also for some personal tips ^^

Highlights:
La Vallee Outlet Village
Disneyland Paris
Chateau Versailles
Eiffel Tower
Montmartre

Day 3: La Vallee + Disneyland Paris

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Read online that you could easily combine a visit to La Vallee with Disneyland so that’s what we did, which I’d recommend others to do the same unless you’re like some big Disney fan and you want the whole day to explore the entire 2 parks. Because travelling to the outlet/Disneyland takes about an hour as it’s in zone 5. Also a good idea to get the travel pass, as travelling to zone 5 itself is pretty expensive and would make the travel pass well worth it. Went for La Vallee in the morning at about 10 am and Disneyland around 3 pm.

There’s also a mall that leads right out to La Vallee, so we did some shopping there. I only got a Cath Kidston glasses case from the outlet, as I didn’t really see anything I fancied. I only wanted to visit the longchamp outlet, but it only stocked the basic bag in bright colours while I preferred the darker ones. For me the trip to the outlet was quite a disappointment. Although I suppose if you’re looking for higher end French brands, you’ll probably find something there. Gab on the other hand got polos from Lacoste, Burberry and Tommy Hilfiger (The burberry polo was apparently cheaper here than at Bicester in UK! Also in comparison, La Vallee is a lot smaller than Bicester, so about two and a half hours is more than enough to cover La Vallee).  If you’re planning to get a lot of stuff from the outlet, check out luggage storage options to keep your hands free in Disneyland.

 OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Reached Disneyland at about 330 pm. When I went to Disneyland Hong Kong, it was crazy crowded and I only spent two hours there watching the parade, not taking much rides and didn’t stay for the night show. So this time I wanted to catch the parade, see the night show and sit at least four rides. And I managed to do all that! 🙂 Only thing I never got to do were the meet and greets but there’s always next time (Tokyo Disneyland, that’s you), right?

IN THE END DISNEYLAND WAS NOT CROWDED AT ALL ^^

The waiting time for queues was like 15-20 minutes max, and there was barely anyone compared to in Hong Kong. I was quite happy because we also managed to get off peak tickets online which were cheaper than getting them at the counter! Quite a lot of planning went into this online purchase, I was even looking at the temperatures and weather for our trip to pick the best day LOL. We got the ticket for 1 park only because we decided we won’t have enough time to fully explore 2 parks given our itinerary. I was quite bummed that all the Disney apparel were winter versions, and the shirts weren’t that nice so I didn’t get any of those.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Disneyland was probably the best part of the trip for me!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Ate a hot dog because we didn’t get to eat lunch at the shopping mall!

Managed to catch the 5.30 pm parade. You can download and check the park schedule before visiting to plan your visit and make the most of your trip!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Waiting for the parade, we started to sit down 45 minutes before the parade started. #typicalsingaporean #kanchiongspider

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I loved looking at all the parade floats, they look really beautiful and intricate!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Is it me or does Aurora’s Castle look grander here?!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Got someone to help us take photos. I think Disneyland is the only place where I felt it was safe asking people to help us take photos because everyone there is on tourist mode. Also because we forgot to bring our selfie stick. ):

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Went up the Aurora’s Castle

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I make it a point to sit on the carousel at every theme park I go to.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Sunset at Disneyland was beautiful.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Disneyland at night! Okay honestly I was pretty much freezing when the sun went down. I think it was because I was sitting down for so long watching the parade.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Had to go escape inside for dinner to warm up. Got like half a chicken and loads of fries for about $14 SGD, it was very filling! Also had to buy a Minnie Bow beanie to save my poor ears. After that we went to sit a few more rides (where waiting time was only 20 minutes max, thank god) before it was time for the night show!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Sorry that’s the best my camera could do. Also Gab stopped me from taking more pictures and asked me to enjoy the show, so I did. I feel bad because every time there is some show/parade, I need to step on his toes to make myself taller so I can actually see something. :/

The night show was so pretty and I was glad we stayed for it! Looking at all the pretty pictures make me miss Disneyland so much ): We left Disneyland at about 11 pm and reached our hotel around 1215 am. I think walking from Crimee station to the hotel was the fastest I’ve ever walked in my life LOL. People need to stop wearing all black and walking around at night. Why do Parisians seem to love black winter wear so much?

 Day 4: Chateau Versailles + Eiffel Tower

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Also managed to secure free entry to Versailles because we’re EU students ~

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

At the famous Hall of Mirrors

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Mirror selfie~

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The beautiful outdoor gardens

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Got a box of Laduree macarons at the Versailles that cost a bomb *sniffs* BUT IT’S DAMN NICE LAH!! Really worth every euro I paid.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Had bacon and chicken baguette ^^

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Stopped by the Notre Dame de Paris for a quick photo but didn’t go in because it was very crowded.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I went to google the best spots to take photos with the Eiffel Tower and some site recommend going by the back to make use of the branches to frame the picture LOL.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Must-do in Paris!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Went for a tea break and ate chocolate and banana lava cake with ice cream at Haagen Dazs at Rue du Commerce. Best shiz everrrr

We shifted Disneyland a day earlier, and happily went there to shop only to discover all the shops were closed because it was a Sunday ):

Ended up googling for shopping malls that were open and we just went to that. I went crazy buying La Roche Posay and Vichy products from the pharmacy…. about 150 euros *sheepish* but quite worth it as I bought like 7 products, back in SG can only buy like 3 products. And I’m quite pleased with my purchases because they’re really good for my sensitive skin!

Day 5: Montmartre + Printemps

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Went to Montmartre to catch a view of Paris from the top.

Getting up there was pretty scary because there were like five black dudes surrounding us when we were trying to walk up the passage way. They kept asking us to buy stuff or give them our hand, and we firmly said “no” and hurriedly pushed past. SCARIEST MOMENT EVER.

But luckily by the time it was time to go down, they disappeared so huge relief!! After the morning excursion we went to Printemps @ Louvre to get all my branded goods. It has a smaller selection but is super quiet, so I just headed there. When I shop for luxury stuff I like it to be very very quiet and nobody is in sight. Is that strange?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Went to climb up the cathedral. Btw I really hate climbing up these kinda things because getting down is a bitch. I can’t not look at steps when I go down the stairs and these views always come with circular and narrow steps so I always get dizzy. But the view is pretty worth it, I’ll admit. 🙂 The sky was clear and the air was fresh, so it was lovely just to admire from where we were!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Some lovely British uncle offered to help us take a photo but because it was backlight so it’d look really dark, we told him it was alright. Are all British people so friendly and kind?! (I’m only asking this because UK was amazing~~)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 Thank you Paris for all the beautiful memories, good and bad.

PS: I’m currently in Greece!! Quite hardworking right, still schedule a post for y’all ^^

XOXO,
HuiMin

Leave a Reply

