Night Fest 2015 Media Preview

Hi guys!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I had the privilege to attend the Singapore Night Festival Media Preview this week before it officially started and boy was I impressed! To be perfectly honest, I am ashamed to admit that in all my years in SMU, I have never attended the Night Fest even though it was held at my very own campus. I am starting to regret that! Definitely making it a point to attend some of the showcases this year ūüôā

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Attending the media session at the House of Glamour!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Fields in Bloom display by students from SOTA

My favourite showcase was by Starlight Alchemy Singapore. Their performance of The Garden of Fire & Light was visually enticing and pretty exciting!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The light element was very pretty and the fire stunts were so exciting! I was sweating because I was standing at the front, I can’t imagine how they can stand being so close to the fire!

I also really like the short film series put together by Logue, The Raffles Photographic Society & Shang. And So They Say is a documentary showing the pioneer generation speaking up about the different aspects of lives. I watched the one inside the National Museum where they were speaking about what is it like to grow old and it was very touching!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And So They Say by Logue, The Raffles Photographic Society & Shang

You have to activate a crank in order for the film to start so it’s a nice interactive touch. I’m really glad that there’s a focus on the elderly since they’re not usually in the spotlight.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A Little Nonya’s Dream by Brandon Tay, Stephanie Ronzon & Fred Multier

This international collaboration exhibit features a short animation and pop-up projection mapping telling a story about the dreams of a little Nonya girl at night.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Anooki Celebrate Singapore by David Passegand & Moetu Battle 

The Inuits running around with bright colourful animation and light-hearted music to wish Singapore a very happy birthday!

They also have an awesome goodie bag ~  the goodie bag comes in the recyled bag carrier which is great because I can use it for grocery shopping after this is over. Exchange has changed me and I am now developing more aunty-like characteristics.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I am pleasantly surprised because I actually found thing that I would really use in this goodie bags, unlike the usual lame discount vouchers and coupons that require you to spend before redeeming.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The coolest item in it is this baby! I am so excited to use this disposable camera!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I have also been wanting an inflatable water bottle so this comes in handy!

I am quite impressed by their goodie bag! Their goodie bag is limited so be sure to turn up early if you want to get one.

IMG_20150821_183413

Thanks Gwen for the invite!

Check out the lookbook video I did for NightFest:

XOXO,
HuiMin

Leave a Reply

