Lucerne Wandering

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’m currently lying in bed fighting an infection. Experienced horrid side effects from the antibiotics the doc gave me last night. Almost fainted in the lift and felt so nauseous. Thank god I had gab to catch me if not I think I lying on the lift floor already. Haha. Scratched going out for dinner, and went home to lie in bed. Luckily I had ice packs in my freezer and my bro was kind enough to cycle out to buy Koolfever (the cooling gel you paste on your forehead). I hate fevers, my head always feels so hot and tight. There was once when I had such a high fever I was lying in bed and crying at the same time because it was so painful so I literally looked like this:Screen Shot 2015-10-02 at 12.00.35 pm Hi-five if you know where this is from.

Woke up today and am feeling decidedly better so I decided to update this space. Haven’t been as active as I would have liked up here because I was super busy. 2 part-time jobs, tuition, case competition (which we WON!!! SO BLESSED!!! I’ve been refraining from telling people on social media and irl… since nobody reads this I guess I can say it here WE FRIKIN WON!!!! WOOHOOOOO), dance (which I had to drop for 2 weeks, going right back this recess after I recover) and school.

Yeah… You could say I was pretty busy.

Anyway, read below for my trip to the amazingly beautiful Lucerne, Switzerland:

We basically went to Lucerne to meet up with my family during their free and easy day of their Europe tour. This was mid-way of my exchange, in March, so it was less cold and the weather in Switzerland was awesome. I was really glad to see them because I was pretty homesick. I planned it such that we would be able to have one day in Lucerne before meeting them. Quite sad that we only met for one day. ):

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We stayed at the Ibis hotel which was very near to the central area of Lucerne. Everything we were planning on seeing was within walking distance! (Except the mountain ofc)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

At our lunch at the Coop restaurant, which was supposedly the cheapest place to eat in Switzerland according to online forums. My plain tomato pasta cost SGD14$ T.T Together with the salad and the drink, it was about $20SGD. Most expensive Pomodoro ever fml. But I got to admit, the serving was huge. I couldn’t finish my meal because I started to get sick of the taste.  I would advise going for the bratwurst and pasta option that Gab got, which was tastier!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Checked out the Lion Monument which was quite underwhelming in size. The little pond separated us, so we couldn’t see the monument up close so we couldn’t appreciate the intricate details. The monument was made in memory of Swiss mercenaries who lost their lives defending the French royalty during the French Revolution.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Visited the Hof Church, the main church of Lucerne, to look at its unique gothic twin towers.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Pretty flowers in bloom ~ It was quite warm, around 15 degrees when we visited.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

THERE WERE SO MANY SWANS OMG!!!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Saw this familiar sight. Dropped them some coins and they winked and waved at me!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The famous Chapel Bridge. I swear everything is so scenic it practically looks like a painting.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Walked over to this classic confectionery store that was recommended online. Kurmann Confectionery is located at 7 Bahnhofstr.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Everything looked so delicious!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Got a chocolate bunny! They were selling loads of bunnies because it was Easter season.

(This was also the shop where the cashier girl asked us if we knew the RMB to CHF rate)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Super love Lucerne (everything except the $$$)

Everything closes at 6pm so we bought some sandwiches for dinner and went back to the hotel.

Sat the bus to find my family at their hotel. They stayed across the river where it was nearer the airport, and much quieter.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Super pretty view along the 30 min ride.

 All of us decided to follow the tour guide up Mt Titlis.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

At the base of the mountain. Check out my dad the photo-bomber.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Finally reunited with my beloved parents! *heart eyes*

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The 3 boys in my life

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Up the cable car ride to the mountain! I actually hate cable car rides because I’m deathly afraid that we would get stranded and be left hanging in the wind or worse falling into the trees.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Visited the glacier cave first

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Then we went out into the cold! It was like -7 degrees so it was super cold! My $5 thermal gloves are the bomb, they kept me pretty warm! My coat is from Universal Traveller, my knitted scarf from H&M and my hat from Taiwan. Buy knitted shit because it seriously works. My boots are from Timberland.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

#mountainselfie

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This was seriously me being a fish out of water – a tropical girl up in the snow-capped mountains! I was looking at all the ang moh skiers in awe and jealousy.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

thumb_P3192168_1024

LYING ON THE SNOWWWWWW (Don’t do this unless you’re prepared to wet your pants)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

On the suspension bridge

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI wasn’t really hungry and was actually feeling a little nauseous due to the thinner air. So I opted for some tomato soup and little bit of vegetarian beehoon. (A lot of famous tourists attraction have started catering to the onslaught of Chinese tourists so it’s a blessing in disguise I guess)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Gorgeous view over lunch

Didn’t get to do any of the activities on the mountain because after lunch the guide brought us back to Lucerne. If I ever go on a mountain again I’d definitely join the kids and learn at some noob slope or something.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Curry chicken with risotto rice for dinner.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Brought my family to walk along Lucerne! Then bid them goodbye as they boarded their tour bus back to the hotel. Can I use the cliche? It was a bittersweet goodbye. HAHA.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Last morning in Lucerne was spent walking up a hill to see the view of Lucerne! Wanted to go to the castle but it was closed ):

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Some stranger came over and said “These are for you. I saw they were already plucked, and thought I’d give them to someone.”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Lucerne is beautiful and my pictures don’t do it justice at all!

Till next time 🙂

XOXO,
HuiMin

Leave a Reply

